MY FAIR LADY!

All work and no play makes for a dull dance teacher!  So, with my fabulous family in tow, I tackled both the INDIANA STATE FAIR and CEDAR POINT amusement park in Sandusky, OH.

The State Fair is a annual event that my family usually attends at least twice each year.  Since this was my one and only trip this year, I had to pack it all in!

Yes, there are animals of every size and description and my grandson, Eero enjoyed each one.  The world’s largest boar continues to be a favorite along with the pen of new born piglets.   The huge percheron horses are also impressive and who doesn’t like to pet a lamb in the sheep barn.

It was the year of POPCORN at the fair and I am including a picture of my husband with the world’s largest popcorn ball!  It took my breath away!

Our main focus at the fair has been and will always be the food!  It always begins at the milk barn with designer grilled cheese sandwiches and milk shakes.  Steak sandwiches, pork chops, corn on the cob, elephant ears, grilled cheese sticks, free ice cream and lemon shake ups were all on the family menu.  Things we didn’t try but were featured at the fair this year were the fried Twinkies (Twinkies are made in Indiana and yes…they’re back), bacon flavored donuts, fried Oreos and, I’m still not sure how they do this but, fried coke!  We always close the fair by attending the Demolition Derby to see Chase Collier, the son of dance studio owner Deb Collier and husband of dance teacher Kristina from Warsaw, Indiana bend some serious steel!  My friend Scott Sisbarro even flies in from Connecticut to be part of the big event.  But, I’m on the road this weekend so we’re wishing Chase luck and hoping to watch again next year.

CEDAR POINT is one of the largest roller coaster park in the U.S..   My daughter; Siobhan and my husband ran from one crazy twisted ride to the other. Meanwhile, my daughter, Caitlin, my grandson, Eero and myself took a gentler path through Camp Snoopy and the food booths!  We even spent a day relaxing on the beach of beautiful Lake Eerie!  It was a great trip and I’m feeling ready to get back to dance!

Now I will shamelessly post pictures of my family at these events.

say hello or share your thoughts

